Technologies

光电子组装及测试中的机电一体化

灵活的,高度模块化和高集成化的 强大的软件工具控制的机电一体化技术

现如今,为高科技应用服务的光电器件正在变得越来越复杂。越来越多拥有不同光学特性的光学元件必须集成至更小的封装中。

ficonTEC 机器完全满足最先进的机电一体化定义:包含可高度集成的先进机械运动/定位引擎,电子设备和仪器,以及强大的软件工具。凭借数百台机器安装所积累的经验以及坚持不懈的设备研发,我们酝酿出了多条成熟,高度模块化和高度集成化的产品线。这使得设备的性能和可重复性得到进一步的提升,从而为使用我们设备生产的器件提供更高的成品率以及更低的单件成本。

通过不断的研发,我们能够领先于客户对于光电器件组装日益更新的生产要求。

technologies-capabilites-optical-modules-02
technologies-capabilites-technologies-mechatronics-02
technologies-capabilites-technologies-mechatronics-03
technologies-capabilites-technologies-mechatronics-01

多自由度精准定位及校准

先进的定位系统与机器视觉完美配合保证灵活可靠的高精度耦合

solutions-platforms-photonics-device-assembly-02

 

精确,可重复并且可靠地在上百万次生产工艺循环中保证微小元件的定位是我们设备设计的主要考量因素之一。最好的机械运动平台与专有零部件相辅相成,将精度与工业级稳固性相互结合。常规的直线平移台和旋转调角台,六轴6-DOF(自由度)部件,长行程龙门架,以及SCARA和仿真机器人常被集成在我们的设备中。

最先进的实时控制器确保多轴系统的快速定位,如基于轴心点的运动和快速主动对准

多个相机系统和先进的机器视觉算法无缝地连接到运动控制,以提供定位导向、预对准和其他高级功能。运动系统和视觉系统通过自动校准程序和校准工具进行精确地校准。

最后同样重要的是,所有的硬件功能都可通过ficonTEC的灵活,模块化且易用的工艺流程设计软件Process Control Master来进行控制。

双光纤耦合

定位粘接

多种贴装技术可用保证可靠的性能及较长器件寿命

不同的贴装方法——紫外固化(UV)和/或环氧树脂热固化,激光焊接,钎焊,共晶和回流工艺以及激光辅助钎焊——是微组装过程中非常关键的工艺步骤。典型应用包括激光半导体芯片,光电二极管,微光学元件及透镜,光纤,LED等与基板,基座甚至是整个光电晶圆的贴装。

用于所选贴装类型的自动化方案必须提供对过程的绝对控制,并且因此必须完成若干任务和目标:

  • 环氧粘接过程中实现不同粘度环氧树脂的精确点胶
    • 点胶后的精确预校准重定位
    • UV照射的适当分布/时间
  • 激光焊接过程中的精确定位及聚焦
  • 焊接及激光辅助焊接中控制热循环/热分布

ficonTEC 为许多光电微组装任务提供多种完善的粘装系统

Slide solutions-platforms-laser-diode-assembly-bonding technologies-capabilities-technologies-bonding-05 homepage-solutions-capabilities-01
technologies-capabilities-technologies-bonding

焊接

technologies-capabilities-technologies-bonding-04

钎焊

technologies-capabilites-bonding-02

UV 环氧树脂粘装

结合光学与电学测试

我们的测试设备专注于从单芯片直到晶圆级光电器件的自动测量以及测试

ficonTEC制造设备中常包含基于‘芯片级’或‘器件级’的测试,作为组装过程中的必要步骤。随着光电制造量级的提升,自动化测试设备也已获得了自己的市场空间。

我们清楚地看到光电测试向晶圆级发展的趋势。在半导体领域,常见到使用有数千个探针的探针卡进行晶圆级别测试,典型接触盘为80 x 80 µm2。然而,光学探测则由于需要更高的位置精度——在亚微米范围——需使用垂直光栅耦合或边缘耦合的方法(后者在晶圆级别存在更大的挑战)。

由于光电测试设备同时需要电学测试和光学测试,某些集成方法是必要的。这推动了我们对光电组合探头的开发。常见测试包括光功率插入损耗,光谱测量,电/光信号带宽,温度相关度测量等等。随着用于同步测试的光学通道数量的增加,对模块化仪器的需求也随之增加,包括可调谐激光源,多通道功率计,光学开关等等。

solutions-platforms-machine-platforms-tl1000-sq

测试协议以及自动测试程序可再次从我们的Process Control Master软件中获益。该软件具有将过程跟踪数据直接连接到SQL数据库的接口,可为客户提供统计数据分析可能性,例如作为提高生产良率的工具。

了解更多相关信息

Technologies

Mechatronics for photonics assembly and testing

Flexible, highly modular and fully-integrated
mechatronic technology controlled by a powerful software tool

Today, photonic devices for high-tech applications are becoming increasingly complex. Ever larger numbers of optical elements with diverse photonic properties must be integrated into ever smaller packages.

ficonTEC machines fulfill the definition of state-of-the art mechatronic systems, encompassing fully-integrated advanced mechanical motion/positioning elements, electronic and optical instrumentation, and all orchestrated with a powerful software tool.

With the accumulated experience of an installed base of many hundreds of machines, continued machine development has led to several well-established, highly-modular and fully-integration-capable product lines. The result is ever higher levels of performance and reproducibility, and thus higher yield and lower cost/part for the very devices our machines are designed to assemble.

These continuous developments also enable us stay ahead of the rapidly changing customer manufacturing needs in photonic component assembly.

technologies-capabilites-optical-modules-02
technologies-capabilites-technologies-mechatronics-02
technologies-capabilites-technologies-mechatronics-03
technologies-capabilites-technologies-mechatronics-01

Motion Control For Accurate And Repeatable Positioning

High-end stages combined with state-of-the-art real-time motion controllers guarantee easy and accurate positioning

solutions-platforms-photonics-device-assembly-02

The best motion stages available are complemented with proprietary technology to combine precision with industrial-grade robustness

Accurate, repeatable and reliable positioning of tiny components over millions of cycles is one of the main considerations in the design of our machines. Conventional stacks of linear translation and rotational (goniometers) stages, hexapod-like 6-DOF (degrees of freedom) devices, long-travel gantries, as well as SCARA and anthropomorphic robots are routinely integrated in our machines. State-of-the-art real-time controllers ensure fast positioning interpolation for multi-axis systems with advanced functionalities such as pivot-point-based motion space and fast active alignment.

These motion systems are collectively designated AUTOALIGN, forming a series of positioning systems that form an integral core element of our automated assembly machines, providing high-precision positioning (nm-resolution coupled with 50 nm and sub-arcsecond accuracy) as well as more mundane tasks such as in-line process pick-&-place capability.

Last but not least, all hardware functions are controlled by ficonTEC’s flexible, modular and easy-to-use process programming software, PROCESS CONTROL MASTER.

Need clarification on AutoAlign configurations and capabilities?

Contact us
fiber-array-over-waveguides

Dual fiber array positioning over waveguides

autoalign-system

Bonding For High Yield And High Performance

Multiple bonding technologies are available to ensure reliable performance and long component lifetime

ficonTEC provides several well-established die bonder systems for many photonics micro-assembly tasks

The various bonding approaches – UV and/or thermally cured epoxy, brazing, soldering and reflow processes as well as laser-induced soldering and laser welding – are extremely critical procedures during micro-assembly. Typical applications include laser diode chip and laser bar bonding, as well as the bonding of photodiodes, micro-optical elements and lenses, optical fibers, LEDs, etc. onto a substrate, a submount, or even onto a full photonics wafer.

An automated approach for the selected type of bonding must provide absolute control over the process, and must thus accomplish several tasks and goals:

  • accurate dispensing of different viscosity adhesives for epoxy bonding
    • accurate component re-positioning following dispensing, regardless of the type used
    • properly distributed/timed UV flashing or thermal curing
    • active shrinkage compensation for UV-expoxies
  • accurate guiding and focusing of laser beams for laser welding
  • controlled thermal cycles / thermal distribution for soldering and laser-induced soldering
  • also be capable of opto-electronic flip-chip assembly

Slide solutions-platforms-laser-diode-assembly-bonding technologies-capabilities-technologies-bonding-05 homepage-solutions-capabilities-01

For epoxy-based bonding approaches, we work closely with manufacturers and with customers to make sure the correct type is chosen for the intended application. Laser-induced soldering options have recently improved thanks to a through-silicon process recently developed by ficonTEC’s R&D.

technologies-capabilities-technologies-bonding

Laser welding

technologies-capabilities-technologies-bonding-04

Soldering

technologies-capabilites-bonding-02

(UV) epoxy bonding

Testing – Electrical, Optical And Mixed-signal Electro-optical

Our test-&-qualify equipment provides fully automated design validation and device verification, for singulated chips through to wafer-level devices

Design validation and device verification will in future mean combined electro-optical probing of singulated and on-wafer devices

Many diverse forms of testing at ‘single die’ or at ‘packaged device’ level is a frequent element of ficonTEC manufacturing equipment, as this is usually a necessary step within an (extended) assembly process. As volumes in photonics manufacturing increase, highly automated testing machines are gaining their own space.

We are also seeing a clear trend toward full wafer-level photonics testing. In the semiconductor world, wafer-level testing with probe cards holding several thousand pins are common, with typical contact pads of 80 x 80 µm2. Optical probing, however, requires much higher positional accuracies – in the submicron range – and utilizing either vertically accessible grating couplers or edge coupling at the wafer.

As both electrical and optical probing is needed to test photonic devices, ficonTEC is already developing combined electro-optical approaches. As the number of optical channels for simultaneous testing increases, more demands will be put on high-channel-count modular instrumentation, including tunable laser sources, multi-channel power meters, optical switches, etc.

Testing protocols and automated testing sequences can again benefit from our configurable PROCESS CONTROL MASTER software, with direct interfacing of process tracking data to an SQL database, thus providing the user with access to statistical analysis of the data, for example as a tool for improving production yield.

solutions-platforms-machine-platforms-tl1000-sq

Need more details on our electro-optical test developments?

Get in touch or visit ‘ficonTEC Insider’, our regular inside line (blog) to all things #photonics_assembly_and_test.

Contact us